Applying for a job vs. needing to take time off

Hey Dear Reader

So I have a question for you guys.

Do you think you should apply for a job when you know that you’ll have to take time off within at least the first month of being employed?

Seems like a weird question to ask right? Let me give you some background.

Today my parents come and visited my brother and I in the city. And they decided we’d go and take away some food from the restaurants near our apartment and eat together as family.

So as they put in the order and we waited outside the restaurant for food to be cooked I noticed that a teppanyaki restaurant was going to be opening next door. When I walked closer to read the signs the owners put up, I found out they were hiring, from a manger position to kitchen hands to waiters and waitresses.

I thought maybe I should apply for the waiter position and work over the summer before I start medical school next year (Remember Australia is in the southern hemisphere. When it’s winter for you guys in the north it’s summer for us in the south (because science)).

As I was thinking about texting the contact number I realised that even if I a got accepted I would have to ask for days off almost immediately. My parents had already organised two trips for us as a family. One was to Melbourne in November to celebrate my brother’s birthday. The other was for two weeks overseas to spend Christmas with my grandmother (I’m Australian and an immigrant, bet you didn’t guess that).

So I chose not to apply for the job because to me it just doesn’t seem right/professional to apply for a job knowing that you’d have to ask for days off almost immediately after you start. Also considering how tough it is to get a job these days I can see an employer hiring someone who can work immediately over someone who would need to take some time off first before getting stuck into it.

But then I thought, (since sadly I don’t have much experience being successful in getting employed) maybe people would normally still apply anyway and it’s just me who’s being weird?

And that brings us back to the question:

Do you think you should apply for a job when you know that you’ll have to take time off within at least the first month of being employed?

It probably wont change how this situation played out (I realised that by the time the restaurant is finished being built I’ll either be preparing for med school or will be in it). But for future reference I’m curious what you guys think.

So what to do you think?

kairos5 out!

Leave a Reply

