Story: Oh no…

Just great, it’s time for the exam I’m nowhere near prepared. All I could do was sit down in the back row behind one of the smartest students of the cohort. The stormy weather outside a symbol of my future.

Oh no the window behind me somehow got open and now wind from the storm has blown the answer sheets from the desks to the floor.

Ah wait, I didn’t mean to see the answer sheet of the student in front of me. It couldn’t be helped since the wind blew it down.

But as long as I don’t copy the same answers it’s not cheating.

Wait why are my fingers twitching now? Ah! I’m now dropping my pencil on my answer sheet and it’s actually colouring some of the answers! It would be terrible if they were the same as the ones on sheet on the floor.

Oh no now the time is up and I can’t even fix the answers.

Why does this always happen? Not studying for an exam, having the wind interrupt my exam and then hand cramps that stopped me from writing the exam….

I’m just so unlucky.

***

You know I like my quite life. No stress just peace and quiet. Yep I’ll just finish up my chemical engineering degree and get job. no complicated plan for money or power.

Wait why is there smoke rising from the chemistry labs?

Oh no, I hope no one meddled with the professors’ research project! Some of those can be quite volatile if you know don’t know what you’re doing.

It’s a good thing I was nearby when this happened! I’m going to go in and help, while it takes the fire service time to respond.

What’s this why is there someone passed out in my locker? I hope no one drugged them with something untraceable. I better carry them out before the fire reaches them.

Wait, why are there people from the media outside the lab taking pictures of me carrying someone out of the burning science lab. It’s almost as if some had called them here on an unrelated matter so that they’d be on campus when the lab caught fire.

Oh no somehow I’ve gain fame as a hero who saved someone life.

Now I’ve ruined my chance at a quiet and peaceful life, maybe I should reconsider my future. Maybe I should become something more chaotic, like a politician?

***

I never dreamed I’d be a leader of a political party! It’s such a shame that all of my opponents in the party were involved in such horrible scandals. It would have been nice if there was someone else who could represent the party, but alas I was the only one.

Well I’m looking forward to upcoming election for the nation’s leader. Even though my party is in opposition, I still have a lot of good ideas on how to run the country.

But I truly believe the party with the best policy should win.

Oh no, something terrible has happened!

It seems like someone has killed our nation’s leader! Such a horrible event! Who could commit such a horrible act against such a tremendously popular person.

Ah someone leaked evidence of the crime to Wikileaks! It seems like it was the deputy  leader!

He’s claiming he’s innocent, but I hope the deputy is guilty. Imagine how scary it would be if someone could murder a nation’s leader and get an innocent man (and the deputy leader no less!) charged with it!

No, I’d feel a lot safer if such a cunning monster didn’t exist and it was simply the deputy!

It seems like a lot of people agree with me and now the public think he really did kill the leader!

Even worse for the ruling party. Someone has leaked even more of their scandals online and now the public hate them. To think what they did to those poor puppies and kittens!

Oh no! The ruling party is now so unpopular and hated that I don’t even need policies to when the election I just have to make sure to run!

Such a dark… dark time for my country. But I’ll still try my best as the new leader and make my country great again!

***

It seems like there’s a misunderstanding. Someone people believe that I’ve been corrupt over my ten years as the leader of this nation. I’m sure I’ve done nothing illegal, but this is why the courts are so important.

This is where my innocence shall be determined! And just should always be carried out.

Oh no even before the trial begins it seems the original judge was met with and accident and now he won’t be able to take part in my trial. How unfortunate.

Ah I the know the replacement judge. I hope he can be fair after all the help I’ve given him with his gambling addiction. Well the jury should be able judge me fairly.

Uh, some of jury look nervous. It would be terrible if someone had threatened them or their friends and family. That would be horrible. It would have been better if they were bribed like the others.

I truly hope the court could rule just

Could you imagine what would happen if court found a guilty person innocent?

Oh no that would be terrible.

Who could stop such a person?

Haha. No one, that’s who.

***

Life is good! After everything that has happened maybe I really will try the quiet life this time. I certainly have the money to make it happen.

Who said life was fair, eh?

*OMPH!*

Oh no, I wasn’t paying attention and run into someone. It would be a shame if I became undone by not paying attention now!

Hmm? doesn’t this person seem familiar? The hat and coat are making difficult but swear I’ve met him somewhere before…

Ah he’s revealing his face now and… wait you’re… you’re meant to be dead! The former deputy leader was killed trying to escape prison! So why is he in front of me?! Well no matter I can figure something out.

Uh… I don’t like that look in his eye. I-I hope he didn’t find out who framed him? I mean if he did then he… he couldn’t have faked his own death, could he? It’s not like it would have been impossible if I was the one in imprisoned but he’s not me so-

Wait where did he get that gun? And now he’s raising it and pointing it at…

Oh…

Oh no…

*BANG*

 

The End

 


Writer’s notes:

Oh no I need to write something witty before starting this section.

Hey dear reader, how life been going for you?

I hope didn’t take this story too seriously and enjoyed it. The idea for this came from a conversation between me and my brother about accidentally performing surgery on someone (there were a lot of lines like: “oh no my hand slipped and I’ve now cut him with a scalpel”). You can kind of see how this story came to be from that (though the main character that time was a lot more innocent and everything happening around him really was by chance).

One of the main problems I had with writing this was when it came to the election… arc(?) I realised “hang on different countries have different political systems” so instead of basing it of the Australian system (which is only system I know) I just tried to keep it as vague as I could, though I think was to the detriment of the story.

Also the last “arc” where the protagonist runs into the deputy, did that feel a bit forced? originally I thought about ending it in after he was found innocent in the court case but… Well I guess  I just really want good to triumph over evil. (Especially in what I write)

Sorry if my writing style seems a bit off. I’ve spent most of the holidays studying for a mid-sem exam and my brain has been feeling like mush. (Seriously though I feel like was just repeating the same phrases while writing this story… It wasn’t the best feeling for me)

Anyway if you’re still on the Easter holidays I hope you’re enjoying the break otherwise I hope things are going well for you.

Well till next time

Hope you enjoyed the story

kairos5 out!

One thought on “Story: Oh no…

Leave a comment